Utah PE Exam, PE License, and PDH Requirements

Utah PE Exam and PE License Requirements

This guide is a walkthrough of the requirements to take the PE Exam, obtain a PE license, and maintain your PE license, including Professional Development Hours (PDH’s) in the state of Utah.

I will update this as often as possible, but to make sure you’ve got the most up-to-date information, always check for the right information from these links:

This article is meant as a general reference and does not replace the official guidelines from the Utah state board or NCEES. 

Also note that the easiest way by far to get licensed in Utah, either initially or by comity, is to have your NCEES record complete and updated regularly. You can find this record by signing into your MyNCEES account at this link.

Requirements to Take the PE Exam in Utah

You do not have to fill out an application or pay additional fees to take the PE exam in Utah. You do, however, need to do the following before registering for the PE exam in Utah:

  1. Make sure that your education information provided when signing up for the PE exam meets the requirements of Utah’s board. This means  a bachelor’s degree from an ABET-accredited university or equivalent as outlined in Utah’s laws on licensing for Professional Engineers, which you can find here. Just use CRTL or CMD + F and search “education” to find the right section. 
  2. Pass the FE exam and have it verified in your NCEES account.

This information can be found at this link.

Requirements to Get Your PE License in Utah

To get your PE license in Utah you must create an account, fill out an application, transmit your NCEES record, and pay the fee all with the Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL). You can get to their website here.

Here is a link to the application to apply for a PE license in Utah. As part of the application, you will need the following:

  • Personal information, including driver’s license and SSN
  • Answer the questionnaire, which includes questions such as whether you’ve had a license revoked, if you have any criminal action active or pending, and if you’ve been involved in a misdemeanor or felony. If you answer yes to these you will need to provide additional information.
  • Education requirements, which is easiest to verify through transmitting your NCEES record to the Utah board.
  • Verification of Experience. This is only for engineers who are applying for their first PE license. It is not required if you transmit your NCEES record to Utah’s board.
  • Pay a $121 fee.
  • Transmit your record to the Utah board on the NCEES website. To do this, you should see “NCEES Record” when you log into your MyNCEES account. Click “Actions” on the right of it, then “Transmit my record.” Update your information, pay the fee (usually $75), then submit. The record will be transferred electronically.

Note that the total cost to get licensed in Utah is $196 if you go the easy route and transmit your NCEES record to the Utah board.

If you are applying for a comity license, meaning you are licensed in another state and want to get your PE license in Utah, you just need to verify that you’ve been licensed for at least one year in a jurisdiction that is deemed equivalent to Utah or transmit your NCEES record. 

Professional Development Hours for Utah PE’s

To maintain your PE license in Utah you are required to complete at least 30 hours of continuing education, or Professional Development Hours (PDH’s). Utah PE licenses expire on March 31 of odd years and require a $74 fee. You will get a reminder in the mail at least 60 days before the renewal date.

You will need that reminder to renew your license as it has a “Renewal ID” on it that you will need to enter as part of the process, so don’t lose it. 

You can access the renewal page directly at this link.

Check out my other PE Exam requirement posts:

Oregon PE Exam Requirements

Colorado PE Exam Requirements

Texas PE Exam Requirements

Recent Posts